Prose-Poems, etc.


I’ve just completed an eight-page prose poem about the arrest and torture of a woman accused of using malicious magic against a neighbor, in times past. This wasn’t intended to be 8 pages long, in fact, I never know how long my work will be when I begin it. I had thought maybe it would cover a full page or maybe a page and a half, but I got into it, and couldn’t stop until it told me it was done. It was hard to write, and had me in tears at the very end. In fact, I was in tears several times during the process, and had to take time away from it, here and there, to gather my senses.

I’ve often wondered how singers can sing sad songs without crying when they perform, and how poets can read their sad poems without tears. I can’t. I have to keep stopping to get control of myself. I hope, when this piece is published in the new book I’m working on, that you (the reader) will understand the emotion that the subject evoked in me, and will appreciate it as I did, while writing it.

By the way, I’m still looking for anyone who is interested in becoming a part of this book, who wants to write a poem, or a piece of pure prose, on the subject of those who were accused of witchcraft or heresy and who suffered and maybe even died for those charges, in times past or in these modern times. I believe it’s important that the readers of the book remember that these kinds of hate-filled episodes have not vanished with the ages, but continue still, within our very neighborhoods, across the globe.

If you have an interest in becoming a part of this project, I’d love to hear from you. Just email me directly, at deliathecrone@yahoo.com, or leave a comment here with your own email address, and I’ll contact you. All contributors to the project will receive:

1. full and complete credit for all the work that is accepted for publication;

2. a share of the revenue from the book’s sales, according to the total word count of their contribution, against the manuscript;

3. my undying gratitude for their participation in a project so dear to my heart.

I hope to hear from you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Informational, pagan

Leave a Reply

